This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Free shipping on orders over $70

Sign up for Email/SMS for 15% off your first order.

Your Cart 0

Sorry, looks like we don't have enough of this product.

Products
Congratulations! Your order qualifies for free shipping You are $70 away from free shipping.
Subtotal Free
Shipping, taxes, and discount codes are calculated at checkout

THE HOJI BLOG

Olive Oil Polyphenol Content by Brand: What the Numbers Actually Mean

Olive Oil Polyphenol Content by Brand: What the Numbers Actually Mean

Olive oil brands publish polyphenol figures ranging from 306 to 2,236 mg/kg, and most of that spread comes from how the oil was tested rather than what's in the bottle. Three different measurements circulate under the same word: total polyphenols, hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives, and hydroxytyrosol alone. They use different lab methods and can differ by an order of magnitude on the same sample. Almost no brand says which one it's quoting. Below is every verified figure we could find, sorted by what it measures and who tested it, plus how to check any claim yourself before you pay for it.

Key Facts

  • Highest brand-published total polyphenol figure we could verify: Oleaphen at 2,236 mg/kg, tested by LC-MS/MS and described by the brand as IOC-accredited lab testing (self-published, not independently reviewed by a third party)
  • Highest figure from a brand with an independently reviewed test: Gundry MD at 586 mg/kg total polyphenols, tested by Olive Oil Times (Feb. 2021, two samples averaged)
  • EFSA's health-claim threshold is 5 mg of hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives per 20 g of olive oil, roughly 250 mg/kg, which is the regulatory floor for the EU's "protects blood lipids from oxidative stress" claim rather than a ceiling
  • Graza Sizzle tested at 312 mg/kg total polyphenols (4.2 mg/kg hydroxytyrosol, 59.1 mg/kg oleocanthal) in independent testing published by a competing olive oil brand, Olivea. Graza does not publish its own lab data
  • Hoji's 2025 harvest tested at 306 ± 21 mg/kg total phenolic compounds by liquid chromatography under COI/T.20/Doc. nº 29 Rev. 2, verified by Indlab (ENAC-accredited, Nº 1089/LE2141), sample ref. 202515396, report dated 19 November 2025
  • Three measurements get used interchangeably: total polyphenols (the widest), hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives (the EFSA basis, including oleuropein complex and tyrosol), and hydroxytyrosol alone (the narrowest). Only the middle one maps to the EU threshold

Why "Which Olive Oil Has the Most Polyphenols?" Is the Wrong Question

It's the question everyone asks, and it has no clean answer. Not because the data is hidden, but because the numbers being compared aren't measuring the same thing.

An oil can be tested for total phenolic content, which sums dozens of compounds including lignans and flavonoids. It can be tested for hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives, the narrower basket the EU regulation actually names, which includes oleuropein complex and tyrosol. Or it can be tested for hydroxytyrosol alone, a single molecule. Run all three on one bottle and you get three very different numbers, all of them correct.

Then add method. Broad-spectrum approaches like NMR and Folin-Ciocalteu measure a wide swath of reducing compounds together and tend toward larger, more inclusive totals. Compound-specific HPLC isolates polyphenols one at a time, which is slower and produces smaller figures. One testing resource put the tradeoff plainly: broader methods can group similar compounds together in ways that inflate the total, while HPLC's approach is harder to exaggerate (Pomoni Research, guided by Dr. Peter Matos, D.O., MPH, Sept. 2025). Neither is fake. They answer different questions.

So a label reading 2,000 mg/kg and a label reading 300 mg/kg tell you almost nothing about which oil holds more of the compounds you care about, unless you know which test produced each one. That's the actual state of this category, and it's why the table below is organized by measurement basis and source rather than as a ranking.

The Three Measurements, and Which One Matters

Total polyphenols

The widest measure. Sums the hydroxytyrosol family plus lignans, flavonoids, and phenolic acids. Produces the biggest numbers. Not what the EU threshold refers to.

Hydroxytyrosol + derivatives

The EFSA basis, explicitly including oleuropein complex and tyrosol. The only measure the 250 mg/kg health-claim threshold applies to.

Hydroxytyrosol alone

A single compound. The narrowest figure, and lower than the EFSA basis for the same oil. Not comparable to the 250 mg/kg threshold.

If a brand publishes a number without naming which of these it is, the number can't be compared to anything. That's the first thing to check, ahead of the value itself.

Olive Oil Polyphenol Content by Brand

Every brand-reported and independently tested figure we could verify. Some come from the brands themselves rather than a neutral third party, and those are marked, because a self-reported number and an independently reviewed one carry different weight.

Brand Total Polyphenols Hydroxytyrosol Specifically Source / Testing Harvest Price / fl oz*
Oleaphen 2,236 mg/kg (1,248 mg/kg oleocanthal) Not separately published Brand-published; LC-MS/MS, described as IOC-accredited lab testing (not independently reviewed) 2025–2026 cycle ~$17 (150 mL / 30×5 mL pods, converted from €79)
Laconiko ZOI 1,397 mg/kg (1,000+ mg/kg oleocanthal) Not separately published Brand-published; Certificate of Analysis referenced on product page (not independently reviewed) 2025 harvest (per retailer listing) $4.73 (375 mL, $59.95)
OLIVIE Plus 30x ~1,250 mg/kg 233 mg/kg Manufacturer-published 3rd-party HPLC, COI/T.20/Doc No 29/Rev.2 standard Not stated on product listing $8.28 (250 mL, $69.99)
Gundry MD 586 mg/kg (avg. of 561 and 612 mg/kg) Not independently published Olive Oil Times independent lab testing, Feb. 2021 Not stated $4.25 (250 mL, $35.95)
Hoji (Hojiblanca, 2025 harvest) 306 ± 21 mg/kg Not separately reported Indlab (Laboratorio Agroalimentario Industrial S.L.), ENAC Nº 1089/LE2141; liquid chromatography per COI/T.20/Doc. nº 29 Rev. 2; sample ref. 202515396; 19 Nov. 2025 November 2025 $5.33 (300 mL / 30×10 mL sachets, $54)
Graza (Sizzle) 312 mg/kg 4.2 mg/kg Independently tested by Olivea, a competing olive oil brand (Graza publishes no lab data of its own) Not disclosed by brand ~$0.65 (750 mL, ~$16.50)
Papa Vince (Nocellara del Belice) Not published ~15 mg/kg Brand-stated figure, cited in third-party olive oil review coverage Not verified [price/size not independently verified]
Typical mass-market / refined EVOO Frequently under 250 mg/kg Frequently well below the EFSA-qualifying threshold General industry testing patterns Rarely disclosed Varies widely

*Prices are per fluid ounce at time of research and drift as retailers change pricing, so treat them as directional. The €79 to USD Oleaphen conversion is approximate. Polyphenol content also varies batch to batch within the same brand, so every figure above reflects one tested batch or harvest rather than a permanent brand attribute.

Read down the first numeric column and the spread looks enormous, from 306 to 2,236. Read across the source column instead and a different pattern appears: the three largest figures are all brand-published, and the three that were independently reviewed or third-party lab verified sit between 233 and 586. That isn't evidence the large numbers are wrong. It's a reminder that the size of a number and the strength of the evidence behind it are separate axes, and only one of them appears on a label.

How to Verify a Polyphenol Claim in Two Minutes

Five checks, in order of how much they tell you:

  • Is there a certificate of analysis you can actually open, or just a number in website copy? This eliminates most of the category immediately.
  • Which measurement is it? Total polyphenols, hydroxytyrosol and derivatives, or hydroxytyrosol alone. If the brand doesn't say, the figure can't be compared to anything.
  • Who ran the test? An accredited third-party lab, a publication, or the brand itself. All three can be accurate; they carry different weight.
  • Is there a harvest date and a testing date? Phenolic content declines from pressing onward, so an undated number tells you less than it appears to.
  • What does the rest of the panel say? Acidity, peroxide index, K232/K270, and especially ethyl esters describe how the fruit was handled, which determines whether the phenolic number survives to your kitchen.

What Are the Most Potent Polyphenols in Olive Oil?

"Polyphenols" is an umbrella term covering dozens of compounds in olive oil, but a handful drive most of the research interest and most of the marketing claims:

  • Oleocanthal is the compound behind the peppery, throat-catching sensation in high-quality EVOO. It's structurally similar to ibuprofen and shows comparable anti-inflammatory activity in lab studies (Beauchamp et al., Nature, 2005). Brands chasing high-polyphenol positioning often lead with oleocanthal because it's both measurable and sensorially obvious, since a genuinely bitter, peppery oil usually does have more of it.
  • Hydroxytyrosol is the specific compound named in the EU's official olive oil polyphenol health claim (Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012), credited with helping protect blood lipids from oxidative stress.
  • Oleuropein is abundant in unripe olives and olive leaves, and it's the precursor that breaks down into hydroxytyrosol during processing and storage. Higher oleuropein at harvest generally means more hydroxytyrosol develops over time.
  • Tyrosol is a milder antioxidant, also covered under the EFSA claim alongside hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives, though generally considered less potent than either oleocanthal or hydroxytyrosol on its own.

A brand's total polyphenol number is a sum of all of these and more, measured together, which is exactly why it can look enormous next to a compound-specific figure without either number being wrong.

How We Report Our Own Number

Hoji's 2025 Hojiblanca harvest tested at 306 ± 21 mg/kg of total phenolic compounds, by liquid chromatography under COI/T.20/Doc. nº 29 Rev. 2, at Indlab (Laboratorio Agroalimentario Industrial S.L.), an ENAC-accredited laboratory, Nº 1089/LE2141, sample reference 202515396, report dated 19 November 2025.

That's a total-phenolics figure, which puts it in the same column as Graza's 312 and Gundry MD's 586 rather than alongside the hydroxytyrosol-specific numbers. We don't present it as an EFSA-qualifying figure, because the EU threshold is measured on the narrower hydroxytyrosol-and-derivatives basis and we haven't had that specific breakdown run. Reporting it as if we had would be exactly the substitution this article is about.

Accredited lab

Indlab, ENAC Nº 1089/LE2141, recognized by the International Olive Council. Not a brand-internal test.

Named method

Liquid chromatography per COI/T.20/Doc. nº 29 Rev. 2, the reference standard, stated on the report.

Traceable batch

Sample ref. 202515396, report dated 19 Nov 2025, tied to the November 2025 Hojiblanca harvest.

The same harvest's panel came back with free acidity of 0.17% (legal limit ≤0.80%), a peroxide index of 6.8 meq O₂/kg (limit ≤20.0), UV absorbance readings of K232 1.75 and K270 0.13 (limits 2.50 and 0.22), and ethyl esters at 6 mg/kg against a limit of 35. A certified sensory panel under COI/T.20/Doc. nº 15 Rev. 11 recorded a defect median of 0.0 and a fruitiness median of 4.6, classifying the oil as Extra Virgin. Roughly 300 pesticide residues screened below the limit of quantification.

Ethyl esters are the number worth pausing on. They form when olives sit or start fermenting before pressing, so a figure at a sixth of the legal ceiling is direct evidence the fruit arrived sound and got milled quickly. Phenolic content is downstream of exactly that.

Why We Chose a Lower-Ceiling Variety

Choosing Hojiblanca means accepting a lower phenolic ceiling than Picual, Coratina, or Koroneiki. Those varieties are the ones behind most of the four-figure numbers in the table above, and we're not going to claim otherwise.

What Hojiblanca gives back is drinkability. It's higher in oleic acid and softer in bitterness, with a green almond and artichoke character and a gentle peppery finish rather than a burn. Our 2025 panel scored it medium across all three positive attributes: fruitiness 4.6, bitterness 3.2, pungency 3.3, with the written classification "green-fruited and balanced."

That matters because every clinical result behind olive oil's reputation assumes daily consumption sustained over weeks or months. EUROLIVE, the trial the EU health claim largely rests on, ran 25 mL a day for three weeks per arm and tested oils at 2.7, 164, and 366 mg/kg total phenols, finding benefits that scaled across that range. An oil at 306 measured on the same basis sits inside that tested band. An ultra-concentrated oil at 1,400 sits well outside it, in territory where proportionally greater benefit is extrapolation rather than a measured result.

Add the practical reality that a lot of people buy a very high-phenolic oil, take one shot, and never finish the bottle. An oil that delivers four times the phenols on paper and gets abandoned in week one delivers nothing. If you love the intensity, buy the intense oil, and there's no reason to talk you out of it. If you're building a daily habit, a balanced cultivar inside the evidence band is the easier thing to keep doing.

What Does Graza's Polyphenol Figure Measure?

Graza doesn't publish its own polyphenol data, and its packaging describes the oil as high-polyphenol without a specific mg/kg figure attached. The only concrete number we could locate comes from Olivea, a competing high-polyphenol brand that independently lab-tested a bottle of Graza Sizzle and reported 312 mg/kg total polyphenols, with hydroxytyrosol at 4.2 mg/kg and oleocanthal at 59.1 mg/kg.

Two caveats worth stating upfront. That test came from a competing brand with its own commercial interest in the comparison, which is the same conflict we're disclosing about our own numbers here, so weigh it accordingly. And it's one bottle, one batch, tested once. Polyphenol content shifts with harvest date and shelf time, so it isn't necessarily representative of every bottle of Graza sold.

What's more useful than the number itself: Graza doesn't publish a certificate of analysis a customer can check. Neither does Laconiko in a form we could open, and Oleaphen's figure is self-tested. That's most of the category, and it's the gap this whole comparison keeps running into.

How Much Polyphenol Content Should You Actually Look For?

The EFSA-recognized floor is 5 mg of hydroxytyrosol and its derivatives per 20 g of olive oil, about 250 mg/kg on that specific measure, below which an oil doesn't qualify for the EU's polyphenol health claim.

Above that floor, the useful reference point is where the trial evidence actually lives. EUROLIVE's highest arm was 366 mg/kg total phenols. Beyond roughly 400, claims of proportionally greater benefit run ahead of what any trial has measured, though some newer work argues concentration matters independently and deserves a fair hearing.

Zoomed out to a full day: there's no official Recommended Daily Intake for polyphenols from any major health authority, but commonly cited estimates for a beneficial range across all dietary sources, not olive oil alone, fall roughly between 500 mg and 1,500 mg per day. That's achievable through a normal produce-forward diet, since fruits, vegetables, coffee, tea, and dark chocolate all contribute, plus one daily serving of a high-polyphenol EVOO.

Best High-Polyphenol Olive Oil: What Should You Actually Buy?

Don't chase the single biggest number. Check what it measures, whether it's independently reviewed, and how recent the harvest is. A compound-specific figure above the EFSA threshold with a third-party report behind it and an independently reviewed total-polyphenol figure are both meaningful signals. An unsourced, undated brand claim with no certificate attached is not, regardless of how large the number is.

Frequently Asked Questions

What olive oil is highest in polyphenols?

Among brand-published figures, Oleaphen currently reports the highest total-polyphenol number we could verify at 2,236 mg/kg, though that figure is self-tested rather than independently reviewed. Among independently reviewed tests, Gundry MD's 586 mg/kg (Olive Oil Times, 2021) is the highest total-polyphenol figure, and OLIVIE Plus 30x's 233 mg/kg is the highest independently tested hydroxytyrosol-specific figure.

Which extra virgin olive oil has the highest polyphenol content?

It depends on which measurement you're comparing, which is the core problem with the question. For total polyphenols, Oleaphen (2,236 mg/kg) and Laconiko ZOI (1,397 mg/kg) report the highest figures, both brand-published. For hydroxytyrosol specifically, OLIVIE Plus 30x's 233 mg/kg is the highest independently tested figure we found. Comparing across those two bases isn't valid.

What is Hoji's polyphenol content?

306 ± 21 mg/kg total phenolic compounds, measured by liquid chromatography under COI/T.20/Doc. nº 29 Rev. 2 at Indlab, an ENAC-accredited laboratory (Nº 1089/LE2141), sample ref. 202515396, report dated 19 November 2025. That's a total-phenolics figure rather than a hydroxytyrosol-specific one, and it sits inside the 300–400 mg/kg band where the EUROLIVE trial evidence is strongest.

What is Graza's olive oil polyphenol content?

Graza doesn't publish its own lab data. Independent testing by a competing brand, Olivea, reported 312 mg/kg total polyphenols for Graza Sizzle, with hydroxytyrosol at 4.2 mg/kg. Treat this as a single tested batch rather than a certified brand-wide figure.

Why does Hoji use Hojiblanca instead of a higher-polyphenol variety?

Hojiblanca has a lower phenolic ceiling than Picual, Coratina, or Koroneiki, and it's noticeably easier to drink daily: higher in oleic acid, softer in bitterness, with a green almond character and a gentle finish. Our 2025 panel scored it medium across fruitiness, bitterness, and pungency and classified it as balanced. Since every clinical result assumes sustained daily consumption, a balanced oil inside the tested evidence band is a more realistic daily habit than an ultra-concentrated one people abandon after a week.

What are the most potent polyphenols in olive oil?

Oleocanthal (linked to ibuprofen-like anti-inflammatory activity, Beauchamp et al., Nature 2005), hydroxytyrosol (the compound named in the EU's official health claim), oleuropein (its precursor compound), and tyrosol (a milder antioxidant) are the most-studied and most bioactive olive oil polyphenols.

How can I verify a brand's polyphenol claims?

Look for an actual certificate of analysis rather than a website claim, check whether the test was independently reviewed or only brand-published, confirm whether the number is total polyphenols or a specific compound, and check for a harvest date and testing date.

Sources
  1. Indlab (Laboratorio Agroalimentario Industrial S.L.), ENAC Nº 1089/LE2141. Test report A.3 / 202515396: phenolic compounds 306 ± 21 mg/kg, liquid chromatography per COI/T.20/Doc. nº 29 Rev. 2, dated 19 November 2025. Companion reports: purity and freshness panel (A.1 / 202515396, 17 Nov 2025) and organoleptic assessment per COI/T.20/Doc. nº 15 Rev. 11 (defect median 0.0, fruitiness median 4.6).
  2. Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012, EFSA-authorized health claim on olive oil polyphenols, hydroxytyrosol and derivatives, 5 mg per 20 g serving threshold.
  3. Covas MI et al. "The Effect of Polyphenols in Olive Oil on Heart Disease Risk Factors: A Randomized Trial" (EUROLIVE). Annals of Internal Medicine, 2006. Oils at 2.7, 164, and 366 mg/kg total phenolic content, 25 mL/day.
  4. High Phenolic / Oleaphen. "Oleaphen Achieves World's Highest Polyphenol Olive Oil at 2,236 mg/kg." Brand press release, 2025–2026 harvest; testing described as LC-MS/MS by IOC-accredited laboratories. Available at highphenolic.com. (Brand-published; not independently reviewed.)
  5. Laconiko. "ZOI Ultra High Phenolic EVOO," product page and referenced Certificate of Analysis, 1,397 mg/kg total polyphenols / 1,000+ mg/kg oleocanthal. Available at laconiko.com. (Brand-published; not independently reviewed.)
  6. OLIVIE Plus 30x manufacturer-published third-party HPLC lab analysis, tested under COI/T.20/Doc No 29/Rev.2 standard, 233 mg/kg hydroxytyrosol.
  7. Olive Oil Times. Independent laboratory testing of Gundry MD Polyphenol-Rich Olive Oil, February 2021 (two samples, 561 mg/kg and 612 mg/kg total polyphenols, average 586 mg/kg).
  8. Olivea. Independent lab testing of Graza Sizzle (312 mg/kg total polyphenols, 4.2 mg/kg hydroxytyrosol, 59.1 mg/kg oleocanthal). Available at myolivea.com. (Olivea is a competing olive oil brand; disclosed for transparency.)
  9. Beauchamp GK, Keast RSJ, Morel D, et al. "Phytochemistry: ibuprofen-like activity in extra-virgin olive oil." Nature, 2005;437(7055):45–46.
  10. Pomoni Research. "Polyphenol Power: HPLC vs. NMR Testing." Guided by Dr. Peter Matos, D.O., MPH. Published September 17, 2025. Available at pomoni.com.
  11. General dietary polyphenol intake estimates (roughly 500–1,500 mg/day across all food sources) are widely cited in nutrition literature; no major health authority has set an official Recommended Daily Intake for polyphenols, so this range should be read as a descriptive target rather than a clinical recommendation.

Disclosure: Hoji Real publishes this article and appears in the comparison above. Our figure is reported on the same basis and with the same level of sourcing detail we ask of every other brand here, and several brands in the table report higher numbers than ours.

Deciding what to actually take every morning is a different question from which oil tests highest. We covered that separately in Best Olive Oil to Drink Daily, which gets into dosing, timing, and what makes a daily habit stick.

Related Reading

This article summarizes findings from published research and is for educational purposes only. It is not medical advice and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Talk to your doctor before making changes to your diet, especially if you have a medical condition or take medication.